The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Freetext search terms: songs on stone
Record 23 of 55

System Number: 06600
Date: 25 October [1891][1]
Author: JW
Place: Antwerp
Recipient: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W593
Document Type: ALS

Hotel St. Antoine. Antwerp -


Sunday -

Well Chinkie! beautiful Luck Wam - I am of course in among em! - The crossing was amazing - the old mill pond business - all Obi! not a ripple - and beautiful -

Now Chinkie this must go on - and then we can be so delightfully at peace that wonderful works will come from our fingers' ends every day -

I find Maeterlinck[4] already in a second incarnation [p. 2] of success - "quite other" from what I first knew him! - Isn't [it] funny! - I bring them all touches of the Amazing! -

Any how here he is in a palace - and giving tonight a banquet[5] - with all that is distinguished feasting away at half past six! - What shall I do for an appetite! - He breakfasted with me - and at present I care to eat no more! - We have been to museums, and upon the whole they were rather cataloguey - you know - old second rate things with the same old names - and I am tired out - I hope though my dear Luck that you have done an Obi for tonight - and a very big one for tomorrow! That is the great day! - The "Independence" is here in person this time - The Chief[6] himself - not "Harry[7]"! - Tell Bunnie[8] I opened the four leaf clover this morning to start with - There is no letter from America yet - and to think I have come without the Field & Tuur[9] [sic] copy with the dedication to McClure Hamilton[10]! -

[p. 3] Too bad isn't it! -

My own darling Chinkie you will have to say your little prayers for the absent Mangler - and try and miss him till he gets back - for he is already blue, as he always is when he is away from her!

However the lithograph Songs[11] are perhaps nice - are n't they? - and it will be worth while to bring them back and show them to his own darling Wam - won't it! - Even if she has banged him much! -

[p. 4] I want to get off - and I hope tomorrow night or Tuesday I shall escape to Paris -

Goodbye my own Sweet Trix
I must rush to this dinner - it is nearly six now!
Love to all -

[butterfly signature]

I have of course lots of things to say but not a minute - Write to the Helder[12]

Mind that Webb[13] goes with you both on Tuesday -

This document is protected by copyright.


Mrs J. McNeill Whistler
21. Cheyne Walk
London -
[stamp:] POSTES / 25 / BELGIQUE
[postmark:] ANVERS / 23 / OC / 10 [illegible]


1.  25 October [1891]
Dated by postmark and reference to Maeterlinck (see below).

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. JW also calls her his 'Luck' and 'Wam'.

3.  21, CHEYNE WALK,
JW's orange embossed letterhead appears on both sheets of paper.

4.  Maeterlinck
Maître Albert Maeterlinck, attorney in Antwerp [more]. JW was in Belgium for the lawsuit brought to stop publication of Whistler, James McNeill, The Gentle Art of Making Enemies, ed. Sheridan Ford, Paris, 1890.

5.  banquet
A reception and dinner were held for JW on 25 October 1891.

6.  Chief
Editor of L'Indépendance Belge.

7.  Harry
Gérard Harry (fl. 1877-1890), journalist for L'Indépendance Belge [more].

8.  Bunnie
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

9.  Field & Tuur
Field and Tuer published an edition of Whistler, James McNeill, The Gentle Art of Making Enemies, ed. Sheridan Ford, Paris, 1890.

10.  McClure Hamilton
John McClure Hamilton (1853-1936), artist [more]. He was a friend of Sheridan Ford (1860-1922), poet, critic, politician and writer on art [more].

11.  Songs
Songs on Stone (excat 19).

12.  Helder
Hotel du Helder, Paris.

13.  Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].