The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Winter Exhibition, Society of British Artists, London, 1885-1886
Record 4 of 14

System Number: 06706
Date: [7/12 December 1885][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W700
Document Type: ALS[3]

'No. 26'[4]


My dear Nellie -

What are we all about that we never see each other or "any body else"! - I should have supposed it might have occurred to Mrs Sophie[5] or yourself to drive round one afternoon some day at dusk and say to me how pleased you all are at [p. 2] Steevies[6] success! - He seems certainly to be the favourite in all papers[7] - have n't you seen? - .

How are you all? - I have been quite poorly again - still perhaps not ill enough to come up and stay! -

Also I have had a tremendous row with the Suffolk Street - and I need not say have been simply superb and naturally covered the body of British Artists with scorn & contumely! -

I have sent Willie[8] a ticket for Saturday evng -

Goodby[e] -

[butterfly signature]

Cant Willie come down some day to the Vale[9]? -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [7/12 December 1885]
Dated from reference to Arrangement in Grey: Portrait of Master Stephen Manuel (YMSM 321) (see note below).

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  ALS
The letter is written at right-angles to the printed address.

4.  'No. 26'
Written in pencil at top of p. 1 in an unknown hand.

5.  Mrs Sophie
Sophia Eustratius Manuel (1853-1905), née Ionides [more].

6.  Steevies
Stephen Manuel (1880-1954), civil servant, JW's nephew [more]. JW had recently painted a portrait of the little boy, Arrangement in Grey: Portrait of Master Stephen Manuel (YMSM 321). It was first exhibited at the Winter Exhibition, Society of British Artists, London, 1885-1886 which opened in November.

7.  papers
The picture seems to have attracted wide comment in the press. See, for example, Anon., 'The Society of British Artists,' The Illustrated London News, LXXXVI, 12 December 1885, p. 616.

8.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

9.  Vale
JW was then living at No. 2, The Vale, Chelsea, known as the 'Pink Palace.'