The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Fair Women, Grafton Galleries, London, 1894
Record 4 of 19

System Number: 08472
Date: [15 January 1894][1]
Author: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: Paris
Recipient: William Heinemann[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: ALS

'Jan. 15 94'

110 Rue du Bac.

Dear Mr Heinemann -

I live in one continual fright of your type written letters, and have been in bed ever since the first one! You represent to me all the sins of procrastination [p. 2] and ambition, and their responsibility, and everything that is terrible!

Don't you think you might help me out of all this, and please [2 illegible words] [Eden?] at the same time by giving it to Ricketts and Shannon[4] I am sure from that letter he wants them to do it.

Jimmie, it is impossible [p. 3] to get anywhere near now - he is hard at work, but he is very interested in your journey to Spain

Have you been?

We all wish you a happy New Year. Jimmie says you must go to the Grafton Gallery[5] and see his pictures,

With kind regards
Very sincerely

Beatrix Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [15 January 1894]
Dated in an unknown hand on p. 1.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  William Heinemann
William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

4.  Ricketts and Shannon
Charles de Sousy Ricketts (1866-1931), painter and designer [more] and James Jebusa Shannon (1862-1923), genre and portrait painter [more].

5.  Grafton Gallery
Fair Women, Grafton Galleries, London, 1894.