The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 97th Exhibition of the Royal Academy of Arts, Royal Academy, London, 1865
Record 3 of 14

System Number: 06678
Date: 25 December 1864
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: George William Whistler[1]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W672
Document Type: ALS

7. Lindsey Row
Old Battersea bridge
Chelsea -
London -

Thursday Dec 25 1864.

Dear George -

Will you lend me[2] one hundred pounds, until April 1865, at which time I shall have received payment for works[3] now in hand to five or six times that amount. Meanwhile I want this money almost immediately, and wish you would send me a cheque by return of post - as there are some embarassing [sic] necessities at Xmas -

Ever Yours -

James Abbott Whistler -

Merry Xmas to you all[4] -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  George William Whistler
George William Whistler (1822-1869), engineer, JW's half-brother [more].

2.  lend me
JW was at work or about to start work on several pictures for the Royal Academy and the Paris Salon the following year (see note below). In addition, Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more] was now part of his household. She had moved to London in 1863 to live permanently with him. In December 1864, she suffered from ill-health and was sent to Torquay, Devon to recuperate.

3.  works
JW was working on Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52), and Caprice in Purple and Gold: The Golden Screen (YMSM 60). Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52) was purchased by John Gerald Potter (1829-1908), wallpaper manufacturer and patron [more], for under £150 (see JW to A. Ionides, #02364), probably in March 1865. Both works were shown at the Royal Academy Summer Exhibition in May 1865. He was also at work on La Princesse du pays de la porcelaine (YMSM 50), which he sent to the Salon in April.

4.  you all
Julia de Kay Whistler (1825-1875), née Winans, JW's sister-in-law [more], wife of G. Wm. Whistler.