The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 7th [Exhibition], Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1897
Record 2 of 3

System Number: 11050
Date: [19 March 1897][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Louise Kinsella[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler K37
Document Type: ALS


'April. 10. 1897.'

Dear Miss Kinsella -

Now I want you to be very nice! - I may manage both Saturday and Sunday[3]! -

Those two days I think I must have - and then I think we may consider the work complete!! - -

Certainly we will say Sunday - [p. 2] at 11. o'clock - Do put aside any English[4] lunch for this once -

After this you shall make as many as you like - and keep them too! -

You see we only have another few days for sending in - and I dont mind acknowledging that I should like . . greatly! to see you in the Champs de Mars[5]! -

Well then Sunday any how - and perhaps Saturday too - However I will wire or write tomorrow -

With kindest regards to Your Sister[6] & yourself
Always sincerely

J McNeill Whistler

Of course Fitzroy Street - this is written at Pennells[7] where I have been dining -

This document is protected by copyright.


Miss Kinsella
47. Beaumont Street.
[postmark:] LONDON W. C. / 1. AM / MR 19 / 97
[postmark on verso:] LONDON W. / 7. AM / MR 19 / 97 / 3

Go and see the beautiful Sarasate[8] -


1.  [19 March 1897]
Dated from the postmark. The date 'April. 10. 1897.' has been (incorrectly) inserted in another hand at the top of the sheet.

2.  Louise Kinsella
Louise Kinsella (d. 1923), patron of JW [more]. This letter relates to sittings for Rose et vert: L'Iris - Portrait of Miss Kinsella (YMSM 420) on which JW had been working since June 1894.

3.  Sunday
Double underlined.

4.  English
Double underlined.

5.  Champs de Mars
The 7th Exhibition, Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1897, to which JW sent three oils including Rose and Brown: The Philosopher (YMSM 472).

6.  Sister
Katherine ('Kate') Kinsella, artist (fl. 1898-1935), later the Marquess Presbitero [more].

7.  Pennells
Joseph Pennell (1860-1926) and his wife Elizabeth Robins Pennell (1855-1936), née Robins, JW's biographers.

8.  Sarasate
'Go and see ... Sarasate' is written on the verso of the envelope. 'Sarasate' refers to Arrangement in Black: Portrait of Señor Pablo de Sarasate (YMSM 315). Neither Arrangement in Black: Portrait of Señor Pablo de Sarasate (YMSM 315) nor Rose et vert: L'Iris - Portrait of Miss Kinsella (YMSM 420) were exhibited at the Champs de Mars.