The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: [Lithograph Exhibition], H. Wunderlich and Co., New York, 1894
Record 2 of 3

System Number: 07237
Date: 2 October 1894
Author: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[1]
Place: New York
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W1225
Document Type: ALS


[scroll:] H. WUNDERLICH & CO.
H W & CO.
868 B'WAY N- Y-

Oct. 2nd 1894.

Dear Mr Whistler

My old acquaintance who bought your picture and some of the "Whistlerian wreckage" from Dowdeswells[2], has just arrived and given me a message from you, for which, thanks.

Of course it is a hopeless task to ask you to reply to my letters, which you said you would do, long. long ago. oh, how long ago!

I have no idea, but presume that it is in a business way that I am to have my quietus, however, I feel quite easy, as I do not think that the [p. 2] efforts of the people who are in this little game can meet with the approval of the folk at 110[3]. I have heard of a number of American pilgrims who are turning their footsteps towards the rue du Bac, and soon, I daresay, you will be "rowlin'" in £.s.d.

I am going to put up your lithos, and wish you would send me at once by return of post the coloured lithograph of the green house[4] (you have two or three more) and the coloured "girl lying on lounge[5]"
Also 2 Vitré[6]
2 the upright with children playing with hoops &tc. in Tuilleries or Luxembourg gardens[7]. Now don't postpone this, but send at once, as I must open the show before the 20th Oct.. Can't you [p. 3] let me have a "Doorway[8]"?

This Museum affair [9]is all very well, but I shall be happy to send you 21/-/- for two. When you print the plate for the F.A.S. you can select others for Museums, Czar of Russia &c..

I notice that the Harpers have eaten a large piece of humble pie, in re Du Maurier[10]. I am in a hurry to catch the mail, so have only time to ask you to decide as to the Exhibition of water Colours, paintings &c. as proposed. It will now have to be in 1895, say in February[11].

Did Mrs. Whistler[12] get a photograph of O'K. in a Whistler pose?
What do you think of it?

I have the portrait[13] in a frame, & it looks very well. The face nust be finished however, as the clothes are.

Kindly remember me to Mrs Whistler and [p. 4] Miss Phillip[14]. Trusting to hear from you by return of post, I am with kindest regards,

Yours sincerely,

E. G. Kennedy

32 .11[15] '

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more]. JW called him O'K.

2.  Dowdeswells
Alfred Atmore Pope (1842-1913), manufacturer and collector [more] had bought The Selsey Shore (YMSM 200) from Messrs Dowdeswell in London. JW said that it should have been destroyed, but had been kept by Charles Augustus ('Owl') Howell (1840? - d.1890), entrepreneur [more].

3.  110
JW's house at 100 rue du Bac, Paris.

4.  green house
Yellow House, Lannion (C.67).

5.  girl lying on lounge
Draped Figure, Reclining (C.56).

6.  Vitre
The Marketplace, Vitré (C.62) or Vitré: The Canal (C.63).

7.  Luxembourg Gardens
Nursemaids: 'Les Bonnes du Luxembourg' (C.81).

8.  Doorway
The Doorway (K.188), which JW was supposedly printing for the Fine Art Society's publication of Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195). (excat 5).

9.  Museum affair
JW wished to retain selected impressions of etchings for major collections such as the Print Room of the Louvre.

10.  Du Maurier
George Louis Palmella Busson Du Maurier (1834-1896), author and caricaturist [more]. His novel of bohemian life in Paris, Trilby, was first published in serial parts in Harper's Magazine in March 1894. JW objected to Du Maurier's portrayal of himself in the character of Joe Sibley, the 'Idle Apprentice'. Harper's subsequently apologised (Harper and Bros to JW, #09879) and Du Maurier toned down the references to JW. When the book was published later in the year, drawings of JW were also omitted (see Du Maurier, George, Trilby: A Novel, New York, 1894).

11.  February
This exhibition, long planned, did not take place.

12.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

13.  portrait
Portrait of E. G. Kennedy (2) (YMSM 404).

14.  Miss Phillip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

15.  32.11
These numbers are in JW's hand.