The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 2nd Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1878
Record 10 of 20

System Number: 13177
Date: [18 June 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Editor, Mayfair[2]
Place: London
Repository: Published
Document Type: PLfc[3]

Mr. Whistler writes good-humouredly touching the story I told the other week about the lady who, on sending one of the great artist's pictures[4] to a loan collection, found, to her dismay, that it had been unwittingly turned upside down.   He says: - ‘Let us insist together on knowing the name of the aggrieved lady, that her complaint may be attended to; and whilst your intelligence may be vindicated, I may also profit, and once for all be placed before a sensitive public "right side up."’   This is 'An Arrangement' to which I agree with all my heart. The lady thus challenged is bound to discover herself, or the story must hence-forward be branded as apocryphal.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [18 June 1878]
Dated from date of publication (see note below).

2.   Editor, Mayfair
Unidentified. Mayfair: A Tuesday journal of politics, literature, and society, etc. was published between December 1876 and February 1880.

3.  PLfc
Published in Mayfair, 18 June, 1878. This is the letter and article. See GUL PC 2, p. 32. See also Getscher, Robert H., and Paul G. Marks, James McNeill Whistler and John Singer Sargent. Two Annotated Bibliographies, New York and London, 1986, B. 7, and also JW's letter draft to Mayfair, #04030. This document relates to a letter to Walter Theodore Watts (later Watts-Dunton) (1832-1914), solicitor, novelist and poet [more], from 'A Brother Artist'; see #13731.

4.  pictures
This may have been one of several Nocturnes sent by JW to II Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, in May 1878. They included Nocturne in Blue and Gold (YMSM 154), and Nocturne: Grey and Gold - Chelsea Snow (YMSM 174), then owned by Alfred Chapman (1839-1917), engineer and collector [more].