The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Winter Exhibition, Society of British Artists, London, 1886-1887
Record 1 of 23

System Number: 09326
Date: [March/November 1886?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Marion Henry Spielmann[2]
Place: [London?]
Repository: John Rylands Library, University Library of Manchester, Manchester
Call Number: Special Collections Division, Spielmann Papers English Ms 1302.650
Document Type: ALS


Dear Mr Spielmann -

Enclosed I send what I promised -

Also Mr Stott's drawing[3] - The Photograph I have had to borrow, and have given my word that it shall be safely returned - wherefore kindly take care of it and send it me back - This [p. 2] is the understanding -

Very sincerely

J McN Whistler

454. Fulham Road -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [March/November 1886?]
Letters from this address are presumed to date from 1885 to 1888. The date is suggested by the possible reference to the SBA (see below).

2.  Marion Henry Spielmann
Marion Henry Alexander Spielmann (1858-1948), journalist and writer on art [more].

3.  Mr Stott's drawing
Edward William Stott (1859-1918), landscape painter [more]. Stott was one of JW's protégés in the SBA. This may be a reference to works by Stott exhibited in 63rd Annual Exhibition, Society of British Artists, London, 1886, which were Portrait of My Friend, T. M. D., Kissing Ring, £500, and Pastel: Sandpools, £50 (cat. nos. 249, 341, 614), or Winter Exhibition, Society of British Artists, London, 1886-1887, when he exhibited Portrait of Miss White, A Summer Day, £600, A Village Street, £30, and a pastel, Pastoral, £30 (cat. nos. 231, 245, 272, 438). It could refer to drawings or reproductions of Stott's work intended for publication.