The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 1st Summer Exhibition, Grosvenor Gallery, London, 1877
Record 32 of 119

System Number: 08731
Date: [10 August 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 4/6
Document Type: ALS


My dear Rose -

Of all things I should so like to come and dine with you on Sunday - but I am afraid I cannot manage it - Also Wills[3] - and William Rossetti[4] I want so much to meet again - Be sure and say for me all sorts [of] things to them [p. 2] and tell William Rossetti he must come and see me -

I must meet you soon and shall come down to you - in Salisbury St. There is news from the Ruskin Camp[5] -

With kindest regards to Mrs Rose[6]
Ever yours

J A McN. Whistler

"The White House"
Tite Street -
Chelsea Embankment -

[p. 3] 'Whistler recd.[7] 10 Augt 1878
Whistler v Ruskin

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [10 August 1878]
Dated from note about date of receipt on p. 3.

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  Wills
William Gorman Wills (1828-1891), playwright and painter [more]. Wills appeared as a witness on JW's behalf during his libel case against John Ruskin (see note below).

4.  William Rossetti
William Michael Rossetti (1829-1919), civil servant and critic [more]. Rossetti also appeared as a witness on JW's behalf during his libel case against Ruskin (see note below).

5.  Ruskin Camp
This relates to JW's forthcoming libel case against John Ruskin (1819-1900), critic, social reformer and artist [more]. The case was in response to Ruskin's criticism of JW's works in his periodical Fors Clavigera. On 2 July 1877, he accused JW of 'flinging a pot of paint in the public's face' in a review of the I Summer Exhibition of the Grosvenor Gallery, London. See Ruskin, John, 'Letter the Seventy-ninth' Fors Clavigera, 2 July 1877, pp. 181-213. However, during the spring and summer of 1878, Ruskin suffered recurrent bouts of mental illness. This stalled proceedings to bring the case to trial several times. By June, Ruskin's solicitors claimed that Ruskin was still unfit to attend court and it was agreed that a hearing should take place during the Michaelmas sittings which began in November (see H. J. Hodgson to James Anderson Rose, #11765). JW may had just heard further news about the trial hearing.

6.  Mrs Rose
Emily Winter Rose (b. ca 1825), wife of J. A. Rose [more].

7.  'Whistler recd ... Ruskin 4'
Written on separate sheet in another hand. The '4' is circled.