The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 4th [Exhibition], Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1894
Record 17 of 35

System Number: 05015
Date: 27 May 1894
Author: Edward John Poynter[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P655
Document Type: ALS


May 27. 94.

My dear Whistler,

I suspect that what Du Maurier[2] says in his "interview[3]" is true enough, that he had no idea that you would be hurt by anything he had said - Anyhow I am delightfully in the dark, not having read the book[4], & I am [p. 2] not going to quarrel with Du Maurier. - altho' your letter[5] is so seductive, that you almost persuade me to take a side. I know you will say this is just like me; but there is not time in this life to go into these things. Besides I am convinced that Du Maurier could not have had any wish [p. 3] to offend or to hurt any one's feelings, & I wish you could see it in the same light & drop it -

I do not know whether I shall have a chance of getting over to see the Salons[6]. If so I will go & see you.

I will find out Lamont's[7] address & send it to you, but I am sure he will look upon [p. 4] this business just as I do, only more so, if only for old friendship's sake.

Yours very sincerely

Edward J. Poynter.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Edward John Poynter
Edward John Poynter (1836-1919), history and genre painter [more].

2.  Du Maurier
George Louis Palmella Busson Du Maurier (1834-1896), author and caricaturist [more].

3.  interview
An interview with Du Maurier, entitled 'Mr Whistler and Mr Du Maurier: The Punch Artist's Attitude', was published in The Pall Mall Gazette, no. 9096, vol. 58, 19 May 1894, pp. 1-2.

4.  book
Du Maurier, George, Trilby: A Novel, New York, 1894.

5.  letter
Location unknown.

6.  Salons
4th Exhibition, Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1894.

7.  Lamont's
Thomas Reynolds Lamont (1826-1898), genre painter and watercolourist [more], who had studied with JW in Paris in the 1850s.