The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 64th Annual Exhibition, Royal Society of British Artists, London, 1887
Record 23 of 31

System Number: 04087
Date: 25 October 1887
Author: Claude Monet[1]
Place: Giverney
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler M357
Document Type: ALS

Giverney par Vernon

Mon cher Whistler

Je reviens de Paris où je suis allé m'occuper de l'envoi de mes tableaux[2], qui sont en route et seront remis dans les délais voulus, à votre galerie par les soins de la maison Boussod et Valadon[3] les [p. 2] successeurs de Goupil. J'espère que le comité ne sera pas trop effrayé de ma peinture quant à moi il me tarde de savoir l'effet produit.

Je compte bien être à Londres vers le 20 ou 25, alors nous causerons de tout cela et de notre exposition[4] de Paris qu'il faudra faire superbe.

[p. 3] mille amitiés et à bientôt

Claude Monet

25 Octbre 87

This document is protected by copyright.


My dear Whistler

I have returned from Paris where I went to see to the despatch of my pictures, which are on their way and will be delivered by the date required, to your gallery in the care of the Boussod and Valadon house [p. 2] successors of Goupil. I hope the Committee will not be too shocked by my painting as for me I am longing to know the effect produced.

I am expecting to be in London on about the 20th or 25th, then we shall talk about all that and of our exhibition in Paris which will have to be superbly done.

[p. 3] All good wishes and I shall see you soon

Claude Monet


1.  Claude Monet
Claude Monet (1840-1926), artist [more].

2.  mes tableaux
He exhibited several works in 64th Annual Exhibition, Royal Society of British Artists, London, 1887.

3.  Boussod et Valadon
Boussod, Valadon and Cie., Paris art dealers.

4.  notre exposition
The proposed exhibition of works by Monet and JW never materialised.