The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 4th [Exhibition], Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1894
Record 4 of 35

System Number: 03363
Date: [17 January 1894][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 119
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]

'17th Jan 94'

110. Rue du Bac. Paris.

My dear Tom -

Your letter was very nice and I was much pleased with it - but I want you to tell me quite clearly, did you do exactly as I said? - Did you give Mr Gleeson White my letter?[4] - and did you tell him that he might take it to Mr Holmes[5]? In short did Mr White read my letter? and did he show it to his Proprietor?

Directly I get their letter I will write to you -

I want you & your Father[6] to go to the Private View at the Grafton[7] on Friday - and I have written to Mr Prange[8], the Director, beging him to send you tickets -

I want you to [p. 2] see three new pictures of mine - sea pieces[9] - and I should like to hear how you both like them -

I have also sent six lithographs[10] - tell me how they are placed - and how they look -

I shall want some more printed directly - but I shall write about that -

For the moment I am awfully busy in the studio finishing some painting[11] there - Directly I get a breathing moment, you will probably see me in London -

Write me a letter directly you have been to the Gallery -
With kindest regards to you both.

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


Thomas Way.
21. Wellington Street
[postmark:] PARIS. O / R. DU BAC / 5E 17 / JANV / 94
[postmark on verso:] LONDON W. C. / C. X. / B A / JA 18 / 94


1.  [17 January 1894]
Dated from the postmark and the date written in pencil in another hand on p. 1.

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

3.  ALS
Published by Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 99, no. 77.

4.  Gleeson White my letter?
On 11 January, JW wrote a letter to Way regarding the publication of his lithographs, and asked him to show it to Charles Holmes and Joseph William Gleeson White (1851-1898), writer on art, first editor of the Studio [more] (#03361).

5.  Holmes
Charles Holme (1848-1923), founding editor of The Studio from 1893-1922 [more].

6.  Father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

7.  Grafton
Fair Women, Grafton Galleries, London, 1894. The private view was on 19 January 1894.

8.  Prange
Francis Gerard Prange (b. ca 1843), London art dealer [more].

9.  sea pieces
Violet and Silver: A Deep Sea (YMSM 411), Dark Blue and Silver (YMSM 412) and Violet and Blue: Among the Rollers (YMSM 413).

10.  six lithographs
Not identified.

11.  painting
Probably Brown and Gold: Portrait of Lady Eden (YMSM 408); sittings began on January 9 and in May the portrait was exhibited at 4th Exhibition, Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1894.