The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 4th [Exhibition], Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1894
Record 12 of 35

System Number: 03287
Date: [25 April 1894][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: William McNeill Whistler[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 169
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS

110. Rue du Bac. Paris

It will be all right my dear Willie I hope - for Duret[3] is seeing to the sale of the little picture[4] - and I have a great success at the Salon[5] with Montesquiou's portrait[6] - So hold on! - for these things take of course a little time - especially when we want them -

I live in an amazing hurry just now - and have to bolt -

Keep a stiff upper lip - and it is sure to come all right -

Abut the etchings[7] I really dont know - but perhaps you might just send over to me tomorrow the little package - and I might see -

Love from both
Always affectionately


This document is protected by copyright.


W. McNeill Whistler Esq. M.D.
17. Wimpole Street.
Cavendish Square.
[postmark:] PARIS 36 / 5. DU BAC / 5E ' 25 / AVR / 94


1.  [25 April 1894]
Dated from postmark.

2.  William McNeill Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more]. He was in urgent need of money at this time.

3.  Duret
Théodore Duret (1838-1927), art critic and collector [more].

4.  the little picture
Whistler in his Studio (YMSM 63). It was eventually sold to the Goupil Gallery, London, in December 1896 for £400 (see #07023).

5.  Salon
4th Exhibition, Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1894.

6.  Montesquiou's portrait
Arrangement in Black and Gold: Comte Robert de Montesquiou-Fezensac (YMSM 398).

7.  etchings
These had been mentioned in an earler letter to Helen E. Whistler, #11656.