The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 4th Internationale Kunst-Ausstellung, Munich, 1889
Record 3 of 5

System Number: 01923
Date: [April 1889][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Deborah Delano Haden[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H24
Document Type: MsLc[3]

'after marriage ? 1892'

My dear Sis -

Nellie[5] tells me that you would like to have the proper story of the latest scalp[6] I have gracefully taken -

Quite right too! you ought to know - History should be neatly written, so I enclose a truthful account - from the "Sporting and Dramatic News[7]", than which there could, in such matters, be no greater authority -

Write me a line to say you received it all right, and that you are pleased -

Always your affectionate brother

J. McN. Whistler

Did Willie[8] tell you that I had been elected an Honorary Member of the Royal Academy of Munich[9]? - and now I have had a letter from the German Ambassador[10] with the official announcement that H. R. H. the Prince Luitpold[11], Regent of Bavaria, has, "in the name of His Majesty, been graciously pleased" to confer upon me the Order of the Holy St Michael

["]Voila[12] [sic]! - ce que l'on dit de moi, dans la Gazette de Hol[l]ande!!!"

Tower House 28 Tite Street Chelsea, London

When you come up to town do come and see us - you and Trixie[13] couldn't help liking each other -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [April 1889]
Dated by reference to Bavarian honours (see below).

2.  Deborah Delano Haden
Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more].

3.  MsLc
Written in an unknown hand. The original version is at #13489. Another copy, by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more], is #03422.

4.  '31a'
These lines were written in unknown hands, the first, in red pencil, and the second, in pencil.

5.  Nellie
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

6.  scalp
Possibly a dispute with the Royal Society of British Artists. See, for instance, JW's letter to H. H. Cauty, 30 March 1889 (#09398).

7.  Sporting and Dramatic News
Reference not identified.

8.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

9.  Royal Academy of Munich
JW had been awarded a gold medal for works exhibited at 4th Internationale Kunst-Austellung, Munich, 1889.

10.  German Ambassador
Possibly Seraphim Eugène Spuller (1835-1893), politician and writer, Ministère de l'instruction publique et des beaux-arts [more]?

11.  Prince Luitpold
Karl Joseph Wilhelm Ludwig Luitpold (1821-1912), Prince Regent of Bavaria [more].

12.  Voila ... Holande
Fr., 'This is what they say of me, in the Dutch Gazette'. The quotation has not been identified.

13.  Trixie
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].