UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 2nd Exhibition, Pictures, Drawings, Prints and Sculptures, International Society of Sculptors, Painters and Gravers, London, 1899
Record 34 of 54

System Number: 11040
Date: 8 June 1899
Author: Rosalind Birnie Philip[1]
Place: Paris
Recipient: Edward Guthrie Kennedy[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: New York Public Library
Call Number: E. G. Kennedy II/126
Credit Line: Edward Guthrie Kennedy Papers / Manuscripts and Archives Division / The New York Public Library / Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations
Document Type: ALS[3]


110 Rue du Bac.

June 8th 1899.

Dear Mr. Kennedy.

We are very sorry you cannot dine with us tomorrow night.

Mr. Whistler is very busy & Saturday especially so, as he has his lawyers[4] dining with him. Will you therefore put off your intended visit until Sunday when Mr. Whistler hopes you will stay & dine with us?

With kindest regards from my mother[5] & Mr. Whistler.
Believe me
Sincerely yours.

R. Birnie Philip.


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

E. G. Kennedy Esq:
Hotel Terminus -
E. V.[6]
[stamp:] POSTE / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE /15
[postmark:] PARIS-60 / R. DU BAC / 9E 8 / JUIN / 99

[added in another hand:] 'June 8, 1899'



Notes:

1.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

2.  Edward Guthrie Kennedy
Edward Guthrie Kennedy (1849-1932), dealer with H. Wunderlich and Co., New York [more].

3.  ALS
The stationery has a deep mourning border. The address on the envelope has been crossed out with a large 'X'.

4.  lawyers
Possibly G. and W. Webb.

5.  mother
Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more].

6.  E. V.
En ville, Fr., in town, that is, in Paris.