The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Document associated with: Loan Collection of Paintings, Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, 1881
Record 1 of 1

System Number: 10916
Date: 19 June [1882][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Henry Graves[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Houghton Library, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
Call Number: f MS A 1412
Credit Line: Published by permission of the Houghton Library, Harvard University
Document Type: ALS[3]

13. Tite Street - Chelsea -

Dear Mr. Graves -

I am so pleased to hear of the safe return from America of my Mother's portrait[4] - and take this occasion to thank you again for the kind courtesy you have shown about it - Will you kindly have it sent down to me here in the morning tomorrow if at all possible - as I am anxious to show it to some people who come in the afternoon - I had already spoken to Mr Algernon[5] about it - Also I will send you very soon a [p. 2] cheque on account of the two Nocturnes [6]you were so good as to send -

With many thanks
Very truly yours

J. McNeill Whistler.

Monday June 19th - '1882'

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  19 June [1882]
The almanac confirms that 19 June was a Monday in 1882, which is the year added in another hand at the end of the letter.

2.  Henry Graves
Henry Graves (1806-1892), print dealer and founder of H. Graves and Co. [more].

3.  ALS
'1882' written in another hand at end of letter, beside date.

4.  Mother's portrait
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101) was one of two pictures deposited by Howell as security on a loan of £100 from Graves (A. Graves to JW, 9 September 1878, #01797). It had been on show at Special Exhibition of Paintings by American Artists at Home and in Europe, Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, Philadelphia, 1881-1882, and 5th Annual Exhibition, Society of American Artists, New York, 1882. A. J. Eddy said 'on good authority' that it was offered for sale in New York at $1200 and found no buyer (Eddy, Arthur Jerome, Recollections and Impressions of James A. McNeill Whistler, Philadelphia and London, 1903, p. 54).

5.  Mr Algernon
Algernon Graves (1845-1922), of H. Graves and Co., print dealers [more]. See his letter to JW dated 10 June 1882 (#01807).

6.  two Nocturnes
Possibly including Nocturne in Black and Gold: The Falling Rocket (YMSM 170) and Nocturne: Black and Gold - The Fire Wheel (YMSM 169). It is not absolutely certain which Nocturnes were pawned to Graves, as security of a loan of £85. This was not repaid for at least a decade, according to Graves' account sent to JW in December 1888 (Graves to JW, #01827).