UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: house, lodgings
Record 4 of 55

System Number: 12245
Date: 21 June [1867][1]
Author: Louisa Pear[2]
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: ALS


'26'[4]

39. Welbeck Street
Cavendish Square

June 21st

Sir

A Mr James Whistler of 2. Lindsey Row, Old Chelsea has refered [sic] me to you, for information regarding his brother Mr W. Whistler[5] who desires to take some furnished rooms in my house, to practice as a physician. I shall therefore feel obliged by your informing me, if he is in a position to pay £100, a year, and also if he is a desirable inmate for a family [p. 2] consisting of ladies only[.] An early answer will oblige

Yours Obediently

Louisa Pear

[p. 3] W Whistler[6]. [illegible word]. 21 June 1867
W Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1. †21 June [1867]
Year date inserted by J. A. Rose on reverse of letter.

2. †Louisa Pear
Louisa Pear, landlady.

3. †James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

4. †'26'
Added in another hand, probably by Rose.

5. †W. Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more]. William Whistler seems not to have moved to Welbeck Street. By 1870, he was living at 14 Old Burlington Street, near Bond Street.

6. †W Whistler ... Whistler
Written in another hand (probably by Rose) on reverse of sheet.